Zeta’s Paw

S M Chen
4 min readMay 23, 2020
Used with permission

Zeta is a puppy, a perhaps improbable husky-Pomeranian mix. Her eyes are two different colors (heterochromia iridis) and her markings distinctive. She is owned by the partner of my son.

Zeta’s predecessor was Sachi, a Shiba inu which, typical for her breed, resembled a fox and had the temperament of a cat. She was pampered and lived to over 100 (equivalent dog years).

My son called me up recently. He wanted my opinion.

Ever playful, while gamboling about, Zeta had gotten a forefoot caught in a metal grate with narrow parallel slats. While extricating, she yelped. Subsequent x-rays revealed that she had multiple paw fractures. The report suggested the prudence of a veterinarian orthopedic consultation.

I am neither a veterinarian nor an orthopedist.

Rather, I am a retired diagnostic radiologist.

But there are crossovers. Humans and dogs share 84% of their DNA. Humans have 20,000–25,000 genes in 23 chromosomes, whereas dogs have a similar number spread across 39 chromosomes. Both animals have cookbooks with recipes.

I decided to take a look.

Here are Zeta’s x-rays:

--

--