To the Rescue

S M Chen
5 min readJan 14, 2023

I viewed the movie “AVATAR: The Way With Water” not long ago with family members.

Poster ad

This is not a review of that movie.

There are many already extant and interested readers can access them, should they be interested.

Were I to review it, it might add more heat than light and be an unnecessary addition to an already crowded field. Surely there are others more qualified to render an opinion.

The preponderance of reviews of the 2nd “AVATAR” film have been positive. Some have faulted the depth of plot, but none disparaged the visuals, of which there are a plentitude.

In fact, I did read reviews of the film before viewing. There are so many movie offerings, it is impossible to view them all, even were one a movie critic (which I’m not), so I try to be selective and restrict myself to those with a high rating.

The same is true of books and other forms of entertainment.

If it entertains, wonderful. If it also scratches beneath the surface, causes one to think and hopefully learn, so much the better.

Suffice it to say James Cameron, director extraordinaire, has done it again.

I thought the visuals extraordinary. Even realizing they were largely CGI (computer generated images), I admit to being entranced for much of the over 3…

--

--